top of page
  • Writer's pictureBR

Synods of the Churches of and after the Reformation - The Dawn of the Reformation (16th-17th Centuries)

Corpus Christianorum. Conciliorum Oecumenicorum Generaliumque Decreta (CCCOGD) focuses on what has been decreed in different forms by those church councils recognised as ecumenical by one or more churches, by general councils of the churches of one or more traditions, as well as by councils which have a greater importance in the history of the individual churches. Volume 6.1 (ed. A. Melloni, with the collaboration of G. Braghi) turns its attention to the synods of the Churches of and after the Reformation from 1526 to 1616.

[Continue reading below the cover]

This two-volume set includes the critical editions – in some cases the very first critical editions – of a selection of synods of the Churches of and after the Reformation from 1526 to 1616. This collection of synodal decrees represents different confessional families and covers a wide linguistic and geographical spectrum.

Alberto Melloni is Full Professor of History of Christianity at the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Secretary and Director of the Foundation for Religious Studies (Fscire) and Chair holder of the UNESCO Chair on Religious Pluralism and Peace at the University of Rome “La Sapienza”. He was also the Chair for the 2021 Italian Presidency of the IF20 by the G20 Interfaith Forum. Since 2020, he has been one of the European Commission’s Chief Scientific Advisors.

Gianmarco Braghi, PhD (Trinity College Dublin), is Assistant Professor of History of Christianity at the University of Palermo and a member of the Foundation for Religious Studies (Fscire), where he acts as Deputy Coordinator of the “Giuseppe Alberigo” European School for Advanced Religious Studies. He is a member of the Board of the Reformation Research Consortium (REFORC) and of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Stitching Calvin’s Reforming Correspondence.

Table of Contents

General introduction (A. Melloni)

1526        Concilium Hombergense (J. Schilling)

1527        Concilium Iuliomagense (C. Scheidegger)

1528        Disputatio et Decem Theses Bernenses (P. Hildebrand)

1530        Concilium Augustanum (K. Stjerna)

1532        Concilium Bernense (P. Hildebrand)

1532        Concilium Campi Foranei (iuxta Hengroniam) (G. Braghi)

1532        Synodus Tigurina (E. Campi)

1533/4     Concilium Argentoratense (G. Braghi & G. Murdock)

1541        Concilium Genevense (G. Braghi & G. Murdock)

1545, 1567, 1570  Concilia Hungarica et Transsylvanica (Z. Csepregi)

1550        Concilium Venetianum-Ferrariense (D. Dainese)

1559/71   Concilia Lutetianum & Rupellense (I. Dingel)

1563/71    Concilium Londinense (T. Kirby)

1564         Concilium Atverpianum (G. Braghi & G. Murdock)

1568/71    Conventus Vesaliensis et Synodus Embdana (H.P. Jürgens)

1570         Concilium Sandomiriense (M. Ptaszyński)

1577         Concilium Saxonicum (I. Dingel & J. Hund)

1593         Concilium Upsaliense (O. Bexell)

1595         Articuli Lambethani (T. Kirby)

1610         Concilium Tuiscoburgense (A. Mühling)

1614/5      Concilium Hibernicum (T. Kirby)

1616         Concilium Aberdoniense Ecclesiae Scoticanae (I. Hazlett)

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page